There are a number of serious consequences that come with a first-timeDUI conviction. The possibility of spending time in jail is one of them.
A first-time DUI is usually prosecuted as a misdemeanor, presuming no one was seriously hurt or killed. In addition to a fine of up to $1,000, vehicle impoundment, license revocation, DUI school or substance abuse treatment, and other Nevada DUI penalties, you will wind up spending a minimum of 48 hours in the Clark County Detention Center.
You could actually be sentenced to up to six months in the county jail, but more often than not, a court will order to you to do a significant amount of community service in lieu of jail time.
However, if your first DUI results in serious injury or death, you could face Category B felony charges which could include a significantly longer term of incarceration. Even for a first-time DUI, you could be sent to a Nevada State Prison for up to 20 years.